logo_home

The Story of a Pope, Monks, and Winegrowers

welcome

The guardians of an exceptional history, the monks and nuns of the Abbeys of Barroux, together with the Lux Montis winegrowers, have the joy of introducing to you the heritage of a two-fold wine legacy: that of the oldest papal vineyard planted in 1309 by Pope Clement V on the lands of our Canton, and that of the monk-winegrowers, creators of the great vineyards of France.

The goal of our vineyards and our Caritas wines is to commemorate this heritage. Discover an exceptional vineyard cultivated according to a set of requirements that is unique in Provence. Most important of all, discover the underlying spirit that inspires the monks and winegrowers in this shared task.

The President of the Wine Academy of France, Jean-Robert Pitte, honors us by supporting this commemoration of our monastic and papal wine heritage. The oenologist Philippe Cambie has provided his talent, experience and encouragement. Jean-Dominique Artaud, former head of the Domaine de Janasse in Châteauneuf-du-Pape has kept a close eye on the vineyard and given us invaluable advice. And Michel Trama, the renowned chef, has offered his expert suggestions for food and wine pairings.

The CARITAS wines will be ambassadors for the best of the history, the wines, and the terroir of Provence. And we especially hope to participate in spreading a Spirit of Charity, which is at the heart of the terroir that produced them.

THE CARITAS SPIRIT

Without Charity I am nothing

CARITAS or the spirit of mutual service, generosity, sharing and giving – the guiding light of the Monks, Nuns and Lux Montis wine growers in their winemaking collaboration.

CARITAS as a song of thanksgiving to Mother Earth who has given unsparingly to the children of man since the beginning of time.

CARITAS to pay tribute to the generosity of our fathers, who through hard work and sacrifice, have handed down arable land to us and turned Provence into one of the most beautiful gardens in the world.

CARITAS like a tree planted today for future generations so that nothing shall be lost of our heritage, not even the slightest fragrance.

CARITAS as a sign of welcome to our lands in Provence which we take loving care of so as to turn them into a joyful, inviting garden.

CARITAS for France, this country of ours, whose genius and freedom have always drawn their energy from their roots in the earth.

CARITAS as a symbol of Charity, the greatest of all realities, which in our western culture has always been symbolized by the vine and wine.

CARITAS to share with you the mutual Charity which exists between monks and winegrowers and to promote a spirit of Charity in the world.

CARITAS so that our wines can help charitable works in the spirit of the sales of the Hospices de Beaune.

CARITAS as a song of praise sung by the monks for the Glory of the “God of Charity”, which began to shine on the day when, in Cana in Galilee, Jesus came to the help of a poor young couple and their wedding guests by changing 600 litres of water into vintage wine.

View from
the French Wine Academy

« The Abbey of Le Barroux is one of the four monastic communities who have chosen wine making as their main manual labor.  Its monks produce bread and olive oil, all of these being very present in the Old and the New Testament.  As He proved at Cana, Jesus loved good wine, even to the point of making it, with the bread, a species of the Holy Eucharist, on the eve of his death.  The numerous mentions of wine and vines in the Bible are proof that a good wine is like a prayer of praise offered to God.

This is the reason why the monks of Le Barroux decided to join forces with the Lux Montis winegrowers and some excellent professionals in order to contribute to the growing reputation of the “Ventoux appellation”. The unique high terrain is well-suited to the production of beautiful, lively wines.

The history of winemaking in Christian Europe is directly linked to monastic life.  Since the Middle Ages, many communities have striven to honor God with the finesse and splendor of their wines, as well as their architecture, liturgical chant, calligraphy and book illumination.  It is obvious that the wine used for the Holy Sacrifice and Eucharistic Communion should be the finest.  The wine that we drink must reflect the work of its makers.  Jubilation is one of the easiest paths to knowing the ways of the Lord.  This is the spirit that guided the monks of Cîteaux, who used the Clos de Vougeot as a laboratory for high quality wine production, even though the terrain itself was not of the best quality in the Côte d’Or region.

Caritas is the name chosen for these new wines with a forthright, direct personality, reminding us of the 1,000 year old hymn: Ubi Caritas et Amor, Deus ibi est».

Jean-Robert Pitte, from the Institute, President of the Academy “Vin de France”

A SECRET TO SHARE
WITH YOU, AND THROUGH
YOU,WITH EVERYONE…

Fill yourself with the Caritas spirit,
by purchasing this box of 5 bottles
and discovering its secrets.

Because you are important to us, the monks and winegrowers, we want to offer you something to accompany our wine: our most beautiful song, a 2,000-year-old melody which, like our terroir, has not really aged for a secret reason that you will discover.  The answer is in our gift box.

Once you have discovered this secret, you will want to walk this path with us, to follow the spirit with your whole heart and make it your goal that this nectar spreads throughout the whole world.  Yes, because the secret is a nectar that should be enjoyed and passed on, like a flaming torch…

I order Caritas Wine

A box contains 5 bottles
of the same colour wine (rosé, white or red).

 

White Wine      Rosé Wine      Red Wine (April 2017)

Caritas in pictures


© ODILE PASCAL

Abbaye du Barroux & Vignerons Lux Montis

1201 Chemin des Rabassières – 84330 – Le Barroux
Tél : +33 (0)4 90 62 56 31 ou +33 (0)6 71 75 77 79
Fax : +33 (0)4 84 50 84 57

 
carte_footer

Un Pape, des Moines et des Vignerons

Héritiers d’une histoire exceptionnelle, Moines et Moniales des abbayes du Barroux et Vignerons Lux Montis, nous avons la joie de vous faire découvrir le mémorial du double patrimoine viticole dont nous sommes dépositaires : celui du plus ancien vignoble pontifical planté vers 1309 par le Pape Clément V sur les terres de notre Canton et celui des Moines-Vignerons, bâtisseurs des grands vignobles de France.

Notre vignoble et nos vins Caritas veulent faire mémoire de cet héritage. Découvrez un vignoble d’exception cultivé selon un cahier des charges unique en Provence. Découvrez surtout l’Esprit profond qui anime moines et vignerons dans ce labeur commun.

Le Président de l’académie du vin de France, Jean-Robert Pitte, nous fait l’honneur de parrainer ce mémorial de l’héritage viticole monastico-pontifical. L’œnologue Philippe Cambie nous prête main forte avec son expérience talentueuse et beaucoup de sympathie, Jean-Dominique Artaud, ancien chef de culture du Domaine de la Janasse en Châteauneuf-du-Pape nous prodigue ses conseils pleins d’attention pour le vignoble, et Michel Trama, le célèbre maître-cuisinier , nous offre ses avis éclairés pour les accords mets et vins.

Les vins CARITAS veulent être les ambassadeurs de ce que l’histoire, le vin et le terroir de Provence ont de meilleur. Ils veulent surtout participer à la diffusion d’un Esprit de Charité qui est le vrai terroir de leur naissance.

L’ESPRIT CARITAS

Si je n’ai pas la Charité je ne suis rien

CARITAS ou l’esprit de service mutuel, de générosité, de partage et de don qui anime Moines, Moniales et Vignerons Lux Montis dans leur collaboration vigneronne.

CARITAS comme un chant de reconnaissance à la Terre Nourricière qui se donne sans compter aux enfants des hommes depuis le premier matin du monde.

CARITAS en hommage à la générosité de nos pères qui à force de peine et de sacrifices nous ont transmis des terres cultivées, faisant de la Provence l’un des plus beaux jardin du monde.

CARITAS comme un arbre planté aujourd’hui pour les générations à venir afin que rien ne se perde, fût-ce un parfum, de ce bien de famille.

CARITAS en signe de bienvenue sur nos terres de Provence que nous entretenons avec amour pour en faire un jardin riant et accueillant.

CARITAS pour notre pays de France dont le génie et la liberté ont toujours puisé leur sève dans ses racines terriennes.

CARITAS comme symbole de la Charité, la plus grande des réalités, qui dans notre culture occidentale a toujours été signifiée par la vigne et le vin.

CARITAS pour partager avec vous cette Charité mutuelle vécue entre moines et vignerons et promouvoir un esprit de Charité dans le monde.

CARITAS pour que nos vins puissent servir des œuvres caritatives dans l’esprit des ventes des hospices de Beaune.

CARITAS comme la louange des moines à la Gloire du « Dieu-Charité », qui a commencé à briller le jour où, à Cana de Galilée, Jésus, pour de jeunes époux dans l’embarras et pour leurs convives, changea 600 litres d’eau en grand cru.

Regard
d’Académicien

« L’abbaye du Barroux est l’une des quatre communautés monastiques françaises qui ont choisi la viticulture comme labeur manuel. Ses moines produisent également du pain et de l’huile, merveilleux aliments si présents dans l’Ancien et le Nouveau Testament. Comme il l’a montré à Cana, Jésus aimait le bon vin au point d’en faire la veille de sa mort, avec le pain, l’une des espèces de l’Eucharistie. Les innombrables références à la vigne et au vin qui ponctuent la Bible prouvent assez qu’un bon vin est comme une prière de louange adressée à Dieu.

C’est la raison pour laquelle les Moines du Barroux ont décidé de s’associer avec les Vignerons Lux Montis et d’excellents professionnels afin de faire progresser leurs vins et de participer à la marche vers l’excellence de la belle appellation Ventoux. Ses magnifiques terroirs d’altitude permettent d’y produire des vins nobles et vifs.

L’histoire du bon vin dans l’Europe chrétienne est profondément liée à la vie monastique. Depuis le Haut Moyen-Âge, les communautés ont tenu à rendre hommage à Dieu par la splendeur et la finesse de leur vin, tout comme par l’architecture, le chant liturgique, la calligraphie et l’enluminure. Il va de soi que le vin du sacrifice et de la communion eucharistiques se doit d’être aussi bon que possible. Celui qui en boit doit percevoir la démarche qui inspire ses auteurs. C’est l’une des plus aisément pénétrables des voies du Seigneur : celle de la jubilation. C’est l’esprit dans lequel les moines de Cîteaux ont fait du Clos de Vougeot le laboratoire d’une viticulture de haute qualité, alors que le terroir y était de qualité, mais sans doute pas le meilleur de la Côte d’Or.

Caritas est le nom choisi pour ces nouvelles cuvées au profil franc et net, rappelant ce que chantent les moines chrétiens depuis plus d’un millénaire: Ubi Caritas et Amor, Deus ibi est ».

Jean-Robert Pitte, de l’Institut, Président de l’Académie du Vin de France

UN SECRET À PARTAGER
AVEC VOUS ET,
PAR VOUS, AVEC TOUS…

Entrez dans l’Esprit Caritas
en achetant ce carton de cinq bouteilles
et découvrez-en alors le secret.

Parce que vous comptez pour nous, moines et vignerons, nous voulons vous offrir ensemble, en plus de notre vin, notre plus beau chant : une mélodie ancienne de près de 2000 ans, comme notre terroir, mais qui, à son image, n’a pas pris une ride pour une raison que nous vous laissons deviner. La réponse sera dans le coffret !

Quand vous aurez découvert ce secret, vous aurez sans aucun doute envie de marcher avec nous sur cette voie, à poursuivre son esprit de toute l’ardeur de votre coeur, à en faire votre seule urgence, pour que son pur nectar puisse enivrer le monde. Oui, car ce secret est un nectar enivrant et un flambeau à transmettre…

Je commande les Vins Caritas

Le carton est composé de 5 bouteilles
d’une même couleur (rosé, blanc ou rouge).

 

Vin Blanc      Vin Rosé      Vin Rouge (Avril 2017)

Caritas en images


© ODILE PASCAL

Abbaye du Barroux & Vignerons Lux Montis

1201 Chemin des Rabassières – 84330 – Le Barroux
Tél : +33 (0)4 90 62 56 31 ou +33 (0)6 71 75 77 79
Fax : +33 (0)4 84 50 84 57