TERROIR

In the heart of the Papal Provence,
between Mont Ventoux and
the Dentelles de Montmirail chain..

A province is land that is given to man so that he can organize it into terroirs. So that, with a plow, tools and machines, taking things as they are and making them as they should be, he humanizes the landscape and, in doing so, develops his own quality of being a man. From these terroirs, that are all connected to each other, he builds a province in which ways of thinking become accepted, and in the same way, from these provinces connected to each other, he shall build a great country.

Henri POURRAT

THE CARITAS TERROIR

An exceptional terroir

In the heart of the Papal Provence, perched at a height of 1,000 to 1,150 feet, between Mont Ventoux and the Dentelles de Montmirail chain, the Lux Montis Winegrowers’ vineyard and the two abbeys of Barroux benefit from a magnificent terroir and climate. Part of the Ventoux AOP (Protected Designation of Origin), our vineyard extends from the eastern ridge of the Dentelles de Montmirail, which overlooks the little village of Suzette, to the northwest foothills of the Giant of Provence (Mont Ventoux). This means that the wines produced from this terroir share a fairly close geological link with some very prestigious neighbors, that include Beaumes de Venise, Vacqueyras and Gigondas. They also benefit from a wonderful mountain freshness…

The tremendous potential of the Côtes du Ventoux was recognized in ancient times by our Gallo-Roman ancestors, who were the first to plant vines in the area. Mentions of Ventoux’s wines can be found in historical documents dating back to the fourteenth century; they were popular with nobles and royalty, there is even an order from Pope John XXII.

The complexity of the landscapes of this region is related to its physical diversity, and the wide variety of crops; traditionally a fruit growing area, wine grapes grow alongside “Muscat du Ventoux” table grapes, olives, cherries and apricots; there is also great diversity in farming practices. In all the communes in which vines are abundant, such as Barroux, Malaucène, Beaumont du Ventoux, Entrechaux, Mollans and Crestet, there are a succession of fruit blossoms from April to June offering a wonderful palette of colors: first cherry blossom, then apricot, olive and, last of all, the vines. In this region, biodiversity is not an academic idea, it is a living reality.

Here is how the French Landscapes Agency described the region “Between Ventoux and Dentelles” in its Diagnostic of the landscapes of the Ventoux PDO in 2005.

« At the end of the Tertiary era, East-West Pyrenees-Provence folds and North-South folding of the pre-Alps created these rugged landscapes, driven by the Nimes fault, which was the largest in the Rhone Valley orogeny. This chaotic, fractured landscape is characterized by the vertical aspects of the Dentelles de Montmirail. The emergence of the Dentelles due to a compression phenomenon unique to the Rhone valley (known as the “Suzette diapir”), enabled geological formations separated by 200 million years to appear side by side, for example, the Triassic and Oligocene in Barroux.

Vines are grown in the valleys and on the hillsides, often on small plots. This mosaic of vines is mixed with other fruit crops or bordered by natural vegetation. There is complexity both on the landscape’s surface and in its undulating form, creating rhythmical, colorful compositions.

The vines thus present well-identified and very diverse terroirs, such as the scree and pebbly alluvium from Mont Ventoux’s steep limestone slopes or the restructured trias of the Dentelles, often colored by the presence of orange-red cellular dolomite, that is excellent for vines.

The massif is largely wooded, but substantial areas are also covered by crops, with terracing on steeper slopes, up to an altitude of about 2,100 feet. »

AN EXCEPTIONALLY
MILD CLIMATE

As everyone knows, the Mediterranean climate provides generous sunshine and the Mistral, our dear north wind, bathes the vines in a steady breeze, reducing the risk of mold and disease. Fortunately, the barrier created by the Dentelles de Montmirail and the foothills of Mont Ventoux protects the vineyard from the excesses of the Mistral which, while having many qualities, can also be a considerable threat.

When it blows at 75 mph on the Plan de Dieu, or at Chateauneuf-du-Pape, it is a more manageable 50 mph in our vineyard, and does not tear too many leaves off the vines or break any branches, and does not suddenly make the whole atmosphere too cold.

The moderate altitude of Mont Ventoux’s northwest slopes keeps a degree of freshness while decreasing the threat of diseases and pests, and the hillsides provide plenty of ventilation and sunshine. In a varied and yet balanced way, our vineyard combines the best features of this microclimate.

The Caritas
TERROIR’S SOIL

Furthermore, the different soil types complement each other: Triassic rock, deep clay-limestone soil, and light, well-drained sandy-alluvial soil, enable us to bring out the best in the grape varieties. For the reds and roses, there is Grenache, old Carignan, Syrah and Cinsault; for white, there is Roussane and Clairette. The fairly arid, pebbly soil is perfectly capable of sustaining a grand cru vineyard, as has been demonstrated by the technical analysis carried out by our friend and adviser, Miguel.

The nature of the soil, its depth, its water supply and the pedoclimatic environment in which the vines will grow, will determine some of the wine’s characteristics and its complexity.

The soil where CARITAS’s vines are planted is located in the northern and central zones of the Ventoux appellation, in the Malaucène basin and the Carpentras amphitheater, broadly a product of tertiary sediment, hard limestone and ancient pebbly alluvium.
CARITAS is in an area where the dominant soil is brown limestone (34.8%), orthents (33%), not very evolved colluvial soil (11.6%), rendzina (12%) and, to a lesser extent, fersiallitic soil (8%) and trias (3 to 5%).
Brown limestone soil, which is very common in the area, develops under the influence of a great abundance of calcium carbonate which slows the process of the bedrock breaking-down and slows humification by the stabilizing humic compounds and protecting against biodegradation. This presence of limestone ensures good soil structure, but it is likely to render micronutrients, such as iron, manganese and boron insoluble. The winegrower has to monitor for possible deficiencies and study other more significant factors for vines, such as the slope and the thickness of the soil profile that will determine its capacity to retain water. The water supply to the vines needs to be rationed in order to produce a good quality harvest.
Colluvial soil also has valuable properties for wine production; but there are also constraints related to its texture, such as limestone, a significant quantity of pebbles or an obstruction deep in the soil.

CARITAS vines also grow in fersiallitic soil that is similar to the brown limestone soil in terms of its effect on the wine. It appears to be particularly beneficial in combination with the brown limestone soil on the terraces of ancient Quaternary alluvium.

The agronomic suitability of soil is determined by general characteristics, measurable in all types of soil, and then by its special characteristics.

In terms of general characteristics, the plots lie on land with an average slope of 10 to 15%, but we have recently planted vines on “bancaous” (strips of land on terraces) where the slope exceeds 15%, and on orthents. The constraints are significant, but we are happy to reduce production in order to increase quality and strength of character.
The texture of the soil types varies between clay-sand alluvium and clay-alluvium sand, with an average clay content of 25%; but we also have plots with a lower clay content, with a clay-alluvium sand texture.
The useful water reserve, which corresponds to the amount of water that the soil can absorb and return to the plants, is 1.50 – 1.80 mm/cm of fine soil, which is very acceptable for the high quality that we are seeking.

In terms of special characteristics, the high proportion of active limestone is the main problem with the soil in the area, because it determines, with the free iron content, the capacity of the soil to cause chlorosis. This is a crucial factor when choosing the rootstock. We have to give preference to those that can adapt to soils that are high in active limestone (and so have a high chlorotic power index). Fercal rootstock is often suitable for these soil types. To keep the vines in good health, our winegrowers are sometimes obliged to correct iron deficiencies by spraying the leaves with a preparation rich in iron and trace elements.

Abbaye du Barroux & Vignerons Lux Montis

1201 Chemin des Rabassières – 84330 – Le Barroux
Tél : +33 (0)4 90 62 56 31 – Fax : +33 (0)4 84 50 84 57

Un
TERROIR

Au cœur de la Provence des Papes,
entre Ventoux et Dentelles de Montmirail,
l’enchantement de la beauté.

Une province, c’est une terre donnée à l’homme pour qu’il l’aménage en terroirs. Pour qu’avec la charrue, l’outil et la machine, en y prenant les choses telles qu’elles sont et en les faisant telles qu’il faut qu’elles soient, il y apprenne à y humaniser tout et à se faire lui-même plus homme. De ces terroirs liés les uns aux autres il a bâti une province où s’élaborent solidement certaines façons de sentir et pareillement, de ces provinces liées les unes aux autres, il rebâtira le grand pays.

Henri POURRAT

Le terroir Caritas

Image d’un terroir d’exception

Au cœur de la Provence des papes, perché de 310 à 550 mètres d’altitude entre le Mont Ventoux et les dentelles de Montmirail, le vignoble des Vignerons Lux Montis et des deux abbayes du Barroux bénéficie d’un terroir et d’un climat magnifiques. Rattaché à l’Appellation d’Origine Protégée Ventoux, notre vignoble s’étend de la crête orientale du cirque des Dentelles de Montmirail qui surplombe le petit village de Suzette aux contreforts Nord-Ouest du Géant de Provence. C’est dire si les vins de ces terres ont un lien de parenté avec leurs prestigieux et très proches voisins des crus de Beaumes de Venise, de Vaqueyras et de Gigondas. La fraîcheur de nos monts en plus…

Dès l’antiquité, nos aïeux Gallo-Romains, créateur de ce vignoble, l’avaient deviné : les Côtes du Ventoux jouissent d’un terroir à très haut potentiel qualitatif. Les documents historiques du XIVe siècle gardent la trace de commandes prestigieuses de vins du Ventoux : le Pape Jean XXII appréciait les crus de nos Monts.

La complexité des paysages de ce territoire est liée à la diversité physique et à la diversité des cultures rencontrées sur cette zone de tradition « multi-fruitière » où la vigne de cuve côtoie le raisin de table « Muscat du Ventoux », l’olivier, le cerisier ou encore l’abricotier ; la diversité est également liée aux pratiques de l’homme sur son environnement. Le Barroux, Malaucène, Beaumont du Ventoux, Entrechaux et Mollans et le Crestet : dans tout ces villages où abondent les vignes, les floraisons se succèdent d’avril à juin offrant des palettes de couleurs merveilleuses à l’œil du promeneur : cerisiers, puis abricotiers, oliviers et vignes enfin. La biodiversité n’est pas chez nous une idée de littérature mais une réalité vivante.

Voici comment l’Agence Paysages décrit ce territoir « Entre Ventoux et Dentelles » dans son Diagnostic des paysages de l’AOP Ventoux de 2005.

« A la fin de l’aire tertiaire, des plis pyrénéo provençaux O.E. et des plissements préalpins N.S. ont crée ses reliefs tourmentés sous l’impulsion de la faille structurante de Nîmes, la plus importante dans l’orogénèse de la Vallée du Rhône. Ce paysage chaotique et fracturé est marqué par la verticalisation des Dentelles de Montmirail. L’émergence des Dentelles par un phénomène de compression unique en Vallée du Rhône (nommé « diapir de Suzette »), a ainsi permis de mettre en scène, côte à côte des formations géologiques éloignées de 200 millions d’années : par exemple le trias et l’oligocène du Barroux.

La vigne est présente dans les vallons et les coteaux souvent sur des parcelles de taille modeste. C’est une marqueterie de vigne en mélange avec les autres cultures fruitières ou bordées par la végétation naturelle. Ce paysage multiple forme avec les mouvements du relief, des compositions rythmées et colorées.

Le vignoble présente ainsi des terroirs bien identifiés et très diversifiés comme les éboulis et alluvions caillouteux alimentés par le relief calcaire du Mont Ventoux ou encore le trias remanié des Dentelles, souvent coloré avec la présence de cargneules rouge-orangé, excellent support pour la vigne.

Le massif est largement boisé mais les cultures occupent également d’importantes superficies sur les pentes plus raides grâce â l’aménagement de terrasses jusqu’à l’altitude d’environ 650m.

Un climat
exceptionnellement
clément

Comme chacun sait, le climat méditerranéen garantit un ensoleillement exceptionnel et notre cher vent du nord, le Mistral, assure une aération de nos vignes hors du commun, limitant les risques de développement des maladies cryptogamiques. Grâce aux paravents que forment les Dentelles de Montmirail et les contreforts du Mont Ventoux, nos vignes sont à l’abris des excès du Mistral qui a beaucoup de qualités mais aussi quelques défauts importants.

Quand il souffle à 120 km/h sur le Plan de Dieu ou à Chateauneuf-du-Pape, on le retrouve chez nous autour de 80 km/hr, ce qui évite les défoliations excessives des vignes, la casse des sarments, et un rafraîchissement trop brutal de l’atmosphère.

L’altitude modérée des pentes nord-ouest du Mont Ventoux préserve une certaine fraîcheur tout en diminuant la pression des maladies et des ravageurs, tandis que les plantations en côteaux assurent une aération et une exposition optimales. Notre vignoble conjugue, de manière variée et équilibrée, les meilleurs atouts de ce microclimat.

Les sols du
terroir Caritas

À cela s’ajoute la complémentarité des différents types de sols : roches du Trias, terres profondes argilo-calcaires, sols sablo-limoneux légers et drainants qui nous permettent de tirer le meilleur parti de nos cépages. Pour les rouges et rosés, grenaches, vieux carignans, syrahs et cinsault ; pour le blanc, roussanes et clairettes. Les sols, plutôt caillouteux et arides, sont tous aptes à porter un vignoble de grand cru comme l’étude plus technique de Miguel, notre ami et conseiller, le montre.

La nature du sol, sa profondeur, son régime hydrique, et l’environnement pédoclimatique dans lequel la vigne se développera, définira une partie des caractéristiques et de la complexité d’un vin.

Les sols d’implantation de CARITAS, sont situés sur les secteurs nord et centre de l’appellation Ventoux, sur le Bassin de Malaucène et l’amphithéâtre de Carpentras, issus globalement de sédiments tertiaires, de calcaire dur et d’alluvions anciennes caillouteuses.
CARITAS est implanté sur une zone où les sols dominants sont les bruns calcaires (34,8%), les Lithosols (33%), les sols peu évolués colluviaux (11,6%), les Rendzines (12%) et dans une moindre mesure les sols fersiallitiques (8%) et de Trias (entre 3 et 5%).
Les sols bruns calcaires, très représentés sur le secteur, se développent sous l’influence d’une grande abondance de carbonate de calcium qui freine les processus d’altération de la roche-mère et qui ralentit l’humification par « stabilisation » des composés humiques et par protection contre la biodégradation. Cette présence de calcaire assure une bonne structure du sol, mais elle est susceptible d’insolubiliser des oligo-éléments, tels que le fer, le manganèse et le bore. Le vigneron doit surveiller ces carences et étudier les caractéristiques plus discriminantes pour la vigne, tels que la pente et l’épaisseur du profil du sol qui détermine la capacité de rétention en eau. Les ceps doivent être rationné en eau pour produire un vendage de qualité.
Les sols colluviaux ont des propriétés aussi intéressantes pour l’élaboration du vin ; mais il y a aussi des contraintes liées à la texture : le calcaire, une charge notable en cailloux ou un engorgement en profondeur.

On retrouve aussi des pieds de vigne de CARITAS sur les sols fersiallitiques qui présentent les mêmes intérêts pour le vin que les sols bruns calcaires. Ils apparaissent particulièrement précieux, en association avec les sols bruns calcaires, sur les terrasses d’alluvions anciennes du quaternaire.

L’aptitude agronomique des sols est conditionnée par des caractéristiques générales, appréciables pour tous les sols, et par des caractéristiques particulières.

Comme caractéristiques générales les parcelles ont été placées sur terrain avec une pente moyenne de 10 à 15%, mais récemment nous avons planté des pieds de vigne sur des bancaous où la pente excède 15%, et sur des Lithosols : les contraintes sont importantes, mais nous voulons limiter la production pour augmenter notre qualité et typicité.
La texture des sols varie, avec une teneur moyenne en argile de 25%, entre limon argilo-sableux et sable argilo-limoneux, mais nous avons aussi des parcelles avec une teneur plus faible en argile, de texture sable argilo-limoneuse.
La réserve utile en eau (RU) qui correspond à la quantité d’eau que le sol peut absorber et restituer à la plante est de 1.50-1.80 mm/cm de terre fine, indice très correct pour la qualité recherchée.

Comme caractéristique particulière, le taux de calcaire actif élevé, est le principal problème des sols de la zone, car il détermine, avec le teneur en fer libre, le pouvoir chlorosant du sol. C’est un point capital dans le choix du porte-greffe. Nous devons privilégier ceux qui peuvent s’adapter aux sols avec un teneur en calcaire actif élevé (indice de pouvoir chlorosant haut). Le fercal est souvent le porte-greffe adapté à ces sols. Pour garder leurs vignes en bonne santé, nos vignerons sont parfois obligés de corriger des carences ferriques par des pulvérisations foliaires riches en fer et en oligo-éléments.

Abbaye du Barroux & Vignerons Lux Montis

1201 Chemin des Rabassières – 84330 – Le Barroux
Tél : +33 (0)4 90 62 56 31 – Fax : +33 (0)4 84 50 84 57

 
carte_footer